North Point (Jagged Shores, Book One) – Thom Collins (Pride Publishing)

Buy from:

Pride Publishing

Buy from:

Amazon

Thom Collins’ debut novel in a planned romance series is set in the remote, picturesque northeast coast of England and features two men with accomplished careers but no luck at love. While a mysterious assailant looms in the background, they forge a deep, much-needed companionship in an unlikely place for a budding gay relationship.

Arnie is a star of the silver screen who is taking time off from the limelight to introduce his nine-year-old son AJ to the town of North Point where he grew up and enjoyed an idyllic boyhood. Since he moved away for college and his career, he sacrificed personal fulfillment to toe the line as the perfect, hetero leading man, and he was burned by an arranged, high-profile marriage to protect his image. His ex-wife Tara, also AJ’s mother, is a hard-partying socialite and a favorite of the tabloids whose exploits are a constant concern. Arnie is now parenting alone, trying to shield his son from his mom’s media spectacle, and figuring out how to live as an openly gay man.

Dominic is a best-selling author of military thrillers who writes under a pen name and moved to North Point for a quiet place to stay under the radar. He’s a naval veteran who spent his younger years on tour around the world, lacking roots and the ability to explore gay relationships. He takes great pride in volunteering with the local coast guard, and he feels like he’s found his home, albeit without someone to share it with.

When Arnie and Dominic meet, their attraction is instantaneous, but personal concerns stand in the way. Arnie wants to normalize life for his son after the disintegration of his tumultuous marriage. Pursuing a boyfriend feels like it would complicate that goal. Dominic needs to extricate himself from a lackluster relationship with a guy who’s not going to take the break-up well, and that guy happens to be a childhood friend of Arnie’s.

Early in the story, Arnie and his son are witnesses to the shocking attack of a female jogger. A masked and hooded man throws her over a cliff. One thinks things are headed in crime/mystery direction. But North Point is first and foremost a slow burn traditional romance.

The portrayal of Arnie and Dominic’s relationship is enjoyable and puts a refreshing focus on guys outside the young adult or new adult spectrum. They’re both in their middle thirties, though on the other side, Collins takes an idealized “older hunk” approach. There’s plenty of gratuitous exposition on each fellow’s muscular, mouth-watering physique to please romance fans, and the sex scenes run rampant with superlatives.

Both men are well-drawn out, likeable characters who seem perfect for each other. Despite his fame and fortune, Arnie is a down-to-earth guy, owing to his small-town roots. Dominic meanwhile is a protector of his community, where extreme tides can endanger novice boaters and seaside hikers. The reader feels the stakes for Arnie as he carefully measures his personal interest against what’s best for his son. He’s in uncharted territory as a gay single dad, especially since he doesn’t have the freedom to live his life entirely privately. Can he trust Dominic to respect his relationship with his son and to not exploit his media profile?

There’s not an extraordinary amount of intrigue with the murder/mystery theme, but readers who prefer sweet, relationship-driven stories surely won’t mind. Danger lurks for Arnie, who could have several enemies who resent his rise above his small-time hometown and his gayness. One gets the feeling early on that love will save the day. Overall, North Point is a nice, atmospheric romance, perfect for fans of Rick Reed and Jay Northcote.

Reviewed by Andrew J. Peters

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.